Sarah Palin Information Blog

Sarah Palin Web Brigade

The Porch: Antler Piles

Posted by Dr. Fay on November 28, 2012

Posted on Chuck Heath, Jr.’s blog today:

This next picture was taken last month and shows my boys in front of Grandpa’s pile. It’s eerily similar to Sam’s, and no, we never knew Sam. Just an Alaskan coincidence.

If you don’t know the story of Dad’s antler pile, he started building it about 25 years ago. Most people assume that he killed all the animals represented by those antlers but that’s not true. The antlers were actually sheds. Whenever we are on one of our frequent trips into the wilderness, we search for dropped antlers. If they’re in good shape, Dad sells them or trades them. If they are older and weathered, they go on the antler pile.

The pile is now over fourteen feet tall and it continues to grow. Dad’s dog, Bo, is specially bred to find and retrieve antlers. Believe it or not, he has even found them under water in slow moving rivers and ponds. I have no idea how he does it.

Read more.

2 Responses to “The Porch: Antler Piles”

  1. Travis Palmer converse la. said

    To start with you are cooler than anything around,,should be pres..but your pop is cooler sorry,,I called him and he gave me a great deal on horns to make bowies out of,,I need all I can get really I use the money I make off them to buy meds for me and wife thanks to that piece off crap pres we have now we can’t afford meds to keep us alive,,anyway any extra you have it would help or I’ll trade for beautiful bowies I make. Native American style,,thanks Travis as seen on American Pickers show 128 ,,1753 highway 171converse louisiana 71419

  2. themercyseat@cox.net said

    Sarah, You have such an interesting family. The ‘Antler Pile’ appears to be in the shape of a Christmas tree… Perhaps you could put a Star at the top for Christmas. (Am not making fun; am serious). I have so enjoyed reading about you and your family, your blogs, Bristol’s blogs, your books, etc. The more I read the more I admire all of you, even though I feel like a ‘wimp’ comparatively speaking ~ LOL! I might be able to shoot a rifle (if it didn’t knock me down), but all the rest… yikes! Keep on keepin on! Am enjoying every moment! Thank you for all you do – spiritually, politically, etc. and may Father GOD bless you! Blessings, Patricia Towles

Leave a Reply

 
