Sarah Palin Information Blog

Sarah Palin Web Brigade

Bristol Palin: “God is in control of … even our foxtrots”

Posted by Dr. Fay on July 29, 2012

Bristol Palin announced on her blog on Friday that she had been invited to be one of the All Stars cast for Season 15 of Dancing With the Stars.

You know when something fun happens in life how you want to tell your friends first?  Well, that’s how I feel about this.  I wanted to tell the readers of my blog some amazing news. I appreciate you sticking with me through all of life’s adventures, and there’s another adventure headed my way.

I’ve been invited to be in Dancing with the Stars All Stars!!!

[...]

I asked for some sort of direction as to what to do, which direction to go…

After all, it’s complicated.  Should I focus on work? A relationship? Even after that terrible fight, I wasn’t sure about where Gino and I stood.

In other words, I prayed and asked for guidance.

After Lifetime wrapped up filming for the day, they took the microphones off Willow and me. It wasn’t ten minutes later that my cell phone rang.

It was the casting director of Dancing with the Stars.

I was ecstatic. It was like God placed this opportunity right at my feet. I called my mom right after our conversation and told her the offer I had gotten. I was totally brought to tears just thinking about the last few years of my life, and how abundantly blessed I am to have such amazing opportunities.  I’m thankful for my book, for this blog, for my Lifetime show, and now this. And, I’m thankful for you guys.

What I’m learning: God’s plan is much greater than our own.

Does that mean I’ll win DWTS?  Not necessarily. I’ll give it my all, and see what happens.

But this is what I do know. I’m trying to live every day a little more confidently, because I know that God is in control of our lives, our futures, and even our foxtrots.

ABC announced the cast with a photogallery, which included this blurb about Bristol:

As a Dancing star she may have seemed like an underdog, but she kept coming back week after week. We can’t wait to see what Bristol the Pistol has in store for us as an All-Star.

Bristol Palin, 21 years old, was born and raised in Wasilla, Alaska. Bristol is the second child and oldest daughter of former Governor of Alaska Sarah Palin and her husband, Todd. Bristol and Levi Johnston’s son, Tripp Easton Mitchell Johnston, was born in 2008.

Bristol is an author, speaker, and reality television personality. After she became a single mother at age 18, Bristol began to publicly advocate teenage pregnancy prevention, and is now a paid speaker on the subject of teen pregnancy. In May 2009, at age 18, Bristol worked with The National Campaign to Prevent Teen and Unplanned Pregnancy to inform young people about the negative consequences of teenage pregnancy.

In May 2009, Bristol was named a Teen Pregnancy Prevention Ambassador for the Candie’s Foundation, a teen pregnancy prevention organization that is a division of the Candie’s clothing brand. Her duties as a paid spokeswoman involved attending town hall meetings, public service announcements, and giving interviews on morning talk shows.

Bristol competed in the fall 2010 season of Dancing with the Stars and reached the finals, finishing in third place. In June 2011, Bristol and Nancy French released her memoir, Not Afraid of Life: My Journey So Far, in which Bristol candidly discusses aspects of her personal life, including tensions with the McCain family and losing her virginity. The book was a New York Times bestseller.

Currently, Bristol is starring in the docu-series Life’s a Tripp. The series follows Bristol as she adjusts back to normal routine in Alaska.

Here is a group photo of the cast, minus the 13th member of the cast, who will be voted on by viewers.

From an article by Gary Levin at USA Today as posted at the Tucson Citizen:

GALLERY: Who’s coming back for the All-Star Season?

The list includes Pamela Anderson, Kelly Monaco, Emmitt Smith, Melissa Rycroft, Joey Fatone, Helio Castroneves, Drew Lachey, Bristol Palin, Kirstie Alley, Apolo Anton Ohno,Shawn Johnson and Gilles Marini.

And for the first time, viewers will vote for a 13th cast member, either Kyle Massey, Carson Kressley or Sabrina Bryan, who are being encouraged to campaign to win votes. (Viewers have four weeks to choose on abc.com).

The new season begins Sept. 24.

Producer Conrad Green says the stars “represent many different seasons,” and allows the show to “get back some of the best personalities” from its run. “”We want the whole season to be a celebration of the people who have taken part.”

The stars won’t all have their original dancing partners (the pairings will be announced Aug. 13). But “the level of competition is going to be quite intense,” Green says. “And we’ll probably have to recalibrate the judging because otherwise it will be all 9s and 10s right out of the box.”

Some of the stars appeared before TV critics: Palin reasons that “the press is going to talk about me no matter what, so I might as well have fun.” (She also has a Lifetime reality series, and her dad Todd is on NBC’s new Stars Earn Stripes series.) What are they not looking forward to? “Not getting a lot of surgery after the competition,” Marini says. And not getting eliminated, adds Lachey.

View video here.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,885 other followers

